View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 01 Aug 2014, 12:49

Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 pike venues 

thanks to those who replied to my query about lochgelly. Instead of starting WW3 with all these foreign fishmongers can anyone suggest a good pike venue near Edinburgh ? I know abut the canal and St Mary's loch/loch o' the lowes from my brother but I'm fairly new at pike fishing and I like to try different places. Thanks in advance for any advice sent. :D

23 Nov 2007, 13:35
Site Admin
Site Admin

Edgelaw Res, Midlothian, run as a course fishery by the Bailiff's Syndicate
Roseberry Res, Midlothian, just along the road from Edgelaw, used to be able to fish for pike there on a day ticket but not sure now.

Cheers
Saul

http://www.adbscotland.org/

23 Nov 2007, 15:08
Profile WWW

think cobbinshaw allowed piking over the winter. Worth an enquiry.

27 Nov 2007, 23:47

with regard to Edgelaw, it can still be fished on a day ticket as long as its purchased in advance. You can get them from the cottage near the dam end and also I beleive the tackle shop in galashiels and I think county life in edinburgh. There are rumours of some 30's coming off it last year but I'm not convinced. my mate had a 19 off it renetly and the members were getting excited about it.

I blankled but I have had fish off it in the past. Its goes to about 70 feet at the dam end.

18 Dec 2007, 08:41
Profile WWW

Thanks to all who bothered to reply. For anybody interested Edgelaw reservoir is £5/day for pike, perch and roach. Tickets from country life, balgreen road or loch keeper's house at roseberry reservoir. Roseberry does pike fishing during trout season but only in specific areas and with big lures or sea dead baits.Apparently there are pike in lanark loch and since scg members get free access here....., HMMM!