View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently 06 Aug 2020, 13:13

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Rig books or websites 

Hi guys just wondered if anyone knows of any good books or web sites on how to tie rigs as i am new to all this.
cheers
Garry

12 Jan 2013, 15:15

Total carp magazine has a page near the back of every edition showing diagrams of basic knots! For a book try discover carp fishing by simon crow & rob hughes. You should be able to get a good 2nd hand or sale copy off amazon or ebay! :wink:

12 Jan 2013, 16:50

Just been on amazon, copies available from 2.30 plus postage! :shock:

12 Jan 2013, 16:55

crafty carper and total carp magazines are always showing basic rigs, most of the uk carp forums also have a rigs section. and you can get step by step instructions on youtube if unsure how to tie them. but keep it simple.
once the weather warms there will also be lots of anglers on the bank willing to show you rigs and safe set ups and explain how and when to use them. but dont be afraid to ask on here if you have any questions about rigs and how to set things up safe.
where are you based and what waters are you planning on fishing? im sure someone will offer to meet you on the bank and talk you through things

12 Jan 2013, 17:02

There are also ready made hook links that'll help you get started until you're ready to get started on tying your own! Cash wise if nothing else! £3-£10 per pack of hooks & the same for a spool of hook link material then possibly some other small things like rig rings etc! When you do get going it's cheaper to tie your own & you can tie them to suit your own fishing location type of bait etc!

12 Jan 2013, 17:22

Definitely cheaper to make your own although when starting out it can help your confidence to use shop bought rigs , ESP make some decent hooks, hook lengths and end tackle so one would assume that the standard of there rigs should be equally as good.